Summer in the Mountains (and Jam!)

This summer I’ll be living in the Appalachian Mountains of Western NC. I’ll be involved in psychology research working towards my goal of getting my PhD in Clinical Psychology. The whole reason I mention this is, it will make my posts a bit more sporadically.

Now on to the good stuff: JAM!

There is nothing like homemade jam. Every spring my mom makes strawberry jam. I have only enjoy the fruits of her labor. Well I decided to try making my own jam (with her help). I wanted to put a twist on traditional Strawberry jam, so I added two of my favorite foods: lemon and ginger.

  • 3 3/4 c strawberries – cut and mashed with a potato masher
  • 7 c sugar
  • 1 inch of grated ginger
  • Zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 package of pectin
  • 8 jam jars and new lids
  • 1/2 tsp butter or margarine (optional)

First we have to clean and sanitize the jars. Gently place the jars in boiling water for a couple of minutes. When you take them out don’t dry out the inside, just let them air dry. Soak lids in the cooling sanitizing water.

In a large pot mix strawberries, sugar, lemon, and ginger. The amounts of ingredients have to be exact, you can’t skimp on the sugar or add in an extra 1/4 c of strawberries. If you want to put in a pad of butter or margarine to limit foaming.

Heat raw jam over high heat until it reaches a full roiling boil (aka it doesn’t stop bubbling when stirred), stirring constantly. Stir in pectin quickly and return to a boil for 1 minute. Afterwards skim off the foam and put it in a separate bowl. Refrigerate the foam and use it in the next week or so.

Fill jars and be careful because the hot jam is like napalm. Start another large pot of water boiling with a towel in the bottom. Take a damp paper towel and wipe off the rim of the jar re-fold the towel after each jar. Quickly put tops on the jars and screw the lid down. Don’t worry about getting it too tight it will seal over time. Put the full closed jars in the boiling water on the towel. Boil for 10 minutes.

The top should seal in the hot water, the middle of the top should stay depressed when you push on it.

One of the best things about jam is it lasts for a year. Its yummy with everything toast, on vanilla ice cream, or flavoring in smoothies.

We already cracked that jar

 

Until later life is short, lick the spoon!

One response to this post.

  1. Uh, I know what I want for Christmas now! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

